Alpine Macaroni (Älplermagronen)

swiss alps

Before I arrived in Switzerland, I thought that the best way to prepare macaroni was the all time classic mac n cheese. My favourite was San Remo instant cheese macaroni, a comfort and convenient food for me for as long as I can remember. However, not long after I was in Luzern, I found myself wolfing down this alpine macaroni (or also commonly known as Swiss-style macaroni) every time I had the chance. It is not exactly the most different from mac n cheese. But different enough for me. It is a typical farmer’s dish. Loaded with fat and carbohydrates but also simple and hassle-free to make. Which is also probably why I get it quite often at my workplace. It is rather common in the German part of Switzerland although I haven’t seen much of it in the French and Italian part of the country. I am not sure where exactly this dish originates from in Switzerland but some people say its from Appenzell, a region and state in German Switzerland.

Alpine Macaroni

alpine macaroni
Serves 5 (I suppose it also depends on your appetite)
Ingredients

  • 125g grated Appenzeller cheese (use any other Swiss cheese if you can’t find Appenzeller. Emmentaler or Gruyere should also be fine)
  • 200g macaroni
  • 150g potatoes, peeled and diced. The size of the dices should be similar in size to the macaroni that you have
  • 125g cream
  • 125g milk
  • 225g white onion, peeled and sliced
  • 40g butter
  • chopped parsley to garnish
  • salt, pepper and grated nutmeg (nutmeg powder) to taste
  • 1 can/jar good quality apple sauce

Steps

  • In a large pot, boil macaroni in salted water for 3 minutes and add diced potatoes. Cook until pasta and potatoes are al dente but not soft and mushy. Strain and pour the pasta and potatoes into a large bowl of iced water to stop the cooking process. Strain the mixture again
  • In another large bowl, mix cream, milk and 2/3 of the cheese until well combined. Add the macaroni and potatoes and mix well. Season the mixture with the salt, pepper and nutmeg
  • Pour the mixture into an ovenproof dish and sprinkle with the remaining cheese. Bake for approx. 15 minutes in a 200 deg celcius oven or until cheese melts and starts to brown
  • While the macaroni is baking, fry the onions in the butter until it starts to caramelize and turn golden brown. The fried onions are vital as they add a hint of sweetness and smokiness to this rich and starchy dish. Taste the fried onions and season with salt accordingly
  • Heat up the apple sauce in a non-stick pan, stirring frequently to avoid burning. Transfer to a bowl and set aside.
  • When the macaroni is out of the oven, tip the onions and spread it evenly over the top of the macaroni
  • Sprinkle with chopped parsley and divide the macaroni onto plates. Dollop a serving of warm apple sauce onto the side and serve
4 thoughts on “Alpine Macaroni (Älplermagronen)

  1. Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really well written article.
    I’ll be sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful information. Thanks for the post. I will definitely comeback.

  2. Fantastic goods from you, man. I’ve be mindful your stuff prior to and you’re simply extremely magnificent.

    I really like what you’ve received here, really like what you’re saying and the way in which you say it.
    You are making it entertaining and you still care for
    to stay it smart. I can’t wait to read far more from you. This is really a terrific site.

Leave a Reply

