Fribourg Vegetable Soup (Soupe De Chalet)

fribourg

A year before I moved to Switzerland, I came to this country via Paris to visit my friend Vanessa in Fribourg. It was not a very cold winter compared to what I experienced in Luzern. But it was unusually wet, and a little gloomy. One night, she drove me to a town nearby to have dinner at a restaurant where the chef apparently killed either himself, his wife or her lover (I don’t really remember the details). I never remembered the restaurant’s name but we always referred to it as The Dead Chef’s Restaurant. When we arrived, she ordered a huge bowl of vegetable soup. Apparently it was one of their specialities. The other being a steak served with char-grilled vegetables and herbed champagne butter. Not being a big fan of vegetables, I took a modest spoonful of soup, thinking that it would be rather ordinary. But to my surprise, it tasted amazing (partly because it also reminded me of Filipino sopas which I grew up eating). And I spent the rest of the night wishing that I had ordered soup too instead of the steak. My wish came true the next day when we decided to go back to the same restaurant again. Needless to say, I ordered the soup.

Everytime it rains here now, I still find myself thinking and wishing for this soup. I used to prepare it whenever I can as it is rather simple to make. Unfortunately the recent burden from work has put me off the thought of dicing and chopping for a while. Being completely drained and hungry after work on a rainy day, I now settle for an instant meal of microwaved Japanese curry and rice instead (not that I am complaining). However, I recently found a small supermarket in the town next to mine that sells the instant version of this soup marked under the name Hüttensuppe. It may not be anywhere close to the real thing. But it will just have to do for now.

Fribourg Vegetable Soup

soupe de chalet

Makes 1.5 litres
Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 150g leeks, cut into thin strips
  • 1 onion, finely diced or chopped
  • 1 potato, peeled and diced
  • 1 carrot, peeled and diced
  • 500ml strong vegetable stock (a simple way will be to dissolve extra vegetable stock powder into 500ml boiling water. reduce or omit adding salt later to taste)
  • 50g macaroni
  • 1 tin (approximately 430g) butter beans, rinsed and drained
  • 250ml cream
  • 100g baby spinach leaves
  • 50g grated Gruyere cheese (Parmesan or Romano will also work as good substitutes)
  • 1 pinch nutmeg powder
  • salt & pepper to taste

Steps

  • Melt butter in a large pan or pot and gently sweat leeks and onions over low to medium heat until onions are translucent
  • Add diced carrots, diced potatoes, macaroni and vegetable stock. Bring to the boil over high heat
  • Cover the pan or pot with a lid and reduce mixture to a simmer, stirring occasionally. Simmer for approximately 10 minutes or until pasta, potatoes, carrots and are tender. But not too soft
  • Add cream, butter beans, spinach and grated Gruyere. Bring to the boil, mixing soup well so that the grated cheese does not clump together
  • Remove from heat and add nutmeg. Season to taste with salt & pepper. Serve
2 thoughts on “Fribourg Vegetable Soup (Soupe De Chalet)

  1. So happy to see the recipe on the Fribourg vegetable soup, I recall having it at Bul and it was absolutely amazing! Thank you for sharing 🙂

  2. il semble délicieux 😉 J’aime beaucoup x 999999. La prochaine fois nous nous réunissons, cuire s’il vous plait pour moi!

Leave a Reply

